Planning Commission

Planning Commission
Carol Minden, Chairman
John Brown 
Gary Isbell
Larry Wewers

Ray Stephens
Dr. Scott West
Matthew Lay

The Jenks Planning Commission consists of seven (7) appointed members, all of whom are residents of the City of Jenks. The seven (7) appointed members are nominated by the Mayor and appointed by the Council, and serve for terms of three (3) years. The Planning Commission elects a chairman and a vice-chairman who serve for a one year term. The Commission's meetings are the 2nd and 4th Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers at Jenks City Hall and are open to the public. 

The Jenks Planning Commission with support of the City of Jenks Planning Staff administers the City's development regulations for the following purposes:

  • promoting the health, safety, peace, morals, comfort, convenience, prosperity, order, and general welfare.
  • reduce the danger and congestion of public transportation.
  • provide adequate light and air, public utilities, facilities and service, and other public requirements.
  • promote productive and enjoyable harmony between man and his environment.
  • achieve a balance between population and resource use which will permit high standards of living and a wide sharing of amenities.
  • prevent overcrowding of land and undue encroachment thereon.
  • promote efforts which will prevent or eliminate damage to the environment and biosphere.
  • stimulate and assure for all citizens safe, healthful, productive, aesthetically and culturally pleasing surroundings.
  • encourage the residential, commercial, and industrial growth of the community as well as the most appropriate use of land.
  • encourage the development of the community in accordance with the Jenks Comprehensive Plan and the Jenks Zoning Code.